365 Days of Random

Random musings about nothing at all

September already?

Wow… today is already the first day of september…and yes, I did just realize that I missed posting for the last day in August… seems August was so not my month for keeping up to this project. I did have every intention of writing yesterday but it was just one of those days. I thought of it… got busy… thought of it again… got even busier and went home to crash. Oh well… here’s to starting September off right.

Seriously, I can’t believe how quickly the summer has gone by. I am sure that we always say that but really, it amazes me that it’s back to school time already. The weather is cooling off, the school buses are back on the roads, traffic patterns are changing again. Don’t get me wrong, I LIKE the cooler weather that comes along with fall but it’s still always a bit sad to see summer coming to a close. I know that TECHNICALLY there are still a few more weeks of summer left and that it’s likely that we’ll have at least a few more ‘heat waves’ coming at us… but for all intents and purposes, this is the end of summer.

When I was growing up the beginning of September and the return to school really signified one BIG event in my town (besides my mom’s birthday – which is tomorrow) – the town fair. School projects from the previous year would be on display, there were carnival rides and games and everyone in town was there. We’d beg our moms to by ‘passes’ so that we could go more than once during the week and ride all the rides all night long…. it’s not a cheap outing.. and some years we had to settle for being able to only go on one night. But no matter what it was always a great time as a kid. To go to it now (as an adult) really only seems fun if you get to take some kids along with you… so I can see why my parents were never fans of going once my sisters and I hit high school and were ‘too cool’ to hang out with our parents at the fair.

Even now, I always associate the week after Labor Day as the “Renfrew Fair”. I know that my parents are volunteering… my young sister too most likely. My older sister is taking my nephew and some of his friends or cousins once or twice to play games and ride rides. I don’t talk to them much during the week because they are never really home. But come Sunday I get great stories about what and who they saw at the fair. It’s a bit of nostalgia for me and always entertaining to catch up on the home town gossip.

Now that I live here in DC the start of September doesn’t really have the same effect on me. I have no kids going back to school – although love the stories of my friends kids and their experiences. Work doesn’t really change for me.. it’s just another day or week. But you can’t help but look at the calendar and think – wow.. another summer gone already.

September 1, 2011 - Posted by | Random | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

