365 Days of Random

Random musings about nothing at all

Motivation… or lack there of

I think over the past few months I’ve made some sweeping statements about wanting to get back in shape, eat better, get healthy, lose weight, blah blah blah. Well, as you can guess based on the title of THIS post I haven’t really managed to stick with a single one of the plans that I’d previously laid out.

I talked about wanting to climb more days a week, or start running or doing some strength training…. well I’ve been climbing twice a week (most weeks)… and that’s about it. I talked about my BF and I starting to follow this meal planning thing so that we could eat fresh foods and healthy meals more often… well that lasted all of one week.

I have noticed that I go through spurts of time when I am HIGHLY motivated to meet my goals. I am almost always goal oriented when it comes to my work… I set a goal and work towards achieving it…. but in these other areas, my motivation seems to drop off and I lose interest or direction or energy or something. Believe me I KNOW that if I could manage to figure out how to eat better with some regularity and how to exercise four or maybe five times a week I’ve have way more energy to do way more things and I’d likely even feel way more motivated to keep going down the healthy lifestyle path I’d established. I know this because I was ON it for a year and a bit and I lost about 20 lbs and was in the best shape I’d been in in years. It was a wonderful feeling and I really do want to get back to that.

But, it’s INSANELY easy to lose your drive and motivation to do it. It’s so easy to say you’re too tired to cook – so you get take out or eat cereal. It’s even easier to say you’re tired so you sleep in or go home instead of going to work out. Or you have too much going on to ‘find the time’. Once you call into those traps – that are SO SO SO easy to fall into – it’s triple as hard to climb out of them and get back on track. Difficult, but not impossible. I think the trick is to not think about it so much and just set smaller goals. Rather than thinking about the final end goal… set up the smaller ones in between. Rather than changing everything about my eating habits to follow some meal plan, start by saying I’m going to cut out one bad thing. Rather than saying I will lose this much weight and work out every day – decide that I want to achieve a certain climbing level by a specific date and realize that the only way to achieve that is to practice and go more often.

So, while I can’t say with any certainty that either of these tactics will work for me, this is my new plan. I am going to cut out fried food – french fries, fried chicken, etc and replace it with veggies. And I am going to climb 5.9s cleanly (90% of the time) by Christmas. I am also setting a long term goal for myself to be 50% more fit than I am today before my sisters wedding (the date for which still has to be set). That may not mean losing any weight or any sizes.. but I want to be tones and strong and lean and very much back on track.

This plan starts with the new school year – right after labor day – and I will try and randomly share my progress. Right now I am not doing great in the food department, but I am climbing more 5.9s (not quite cleanly) than I was a month ago and on my way to getting stronger in that area. We’ll see how this goes. I need to dig deeper and find the motivation within myself to achieve all three of these goals. I can do it! That’s the first step – positive thinking 🙂

August 30, 2011 - Posted by | Challenges, Health & Wellness, Personal Theories | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

